Killers of the Flower Moon.

I made a conscious choice, when the movie was released last year, that I wanted to read the book that the movie is based on instead. I finished reading it this week and have taken a few days to ponder on the book and it’s contents.

Firstly, huge kudos to the author. It’s clearly well researched and the references in the back of the book demonstrate the verification process. I’ve already ordered another book (The Lost City of Z) and am interested to see what it says before attempting that movie.

I think what caught me off guard is how the story unfolds. I started reading thinking the book was going to take me in one direction and instead it threw me a curveball that was completely unexpected. I spent a sleepless night the day I finished the book because it lingered in my thoughts. The sheer magnitude of what was brought to light… It still leaves me speechless.

I don’t read non fiction to be brought to tears, to consider the gross inequality of man, and I’m certain my words don’t do this book justice. It certainly leaves me wanting to learn more… but cautiously, because I suspect all I will find is more to make me cry.

2 responses to “Killers of the Flower Moon.”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started